The Occasional Murder Is Never Enough?

So, your favourite romance author – well, one of them – is diving into her first thriller!

DCI Gerald Persaud is a maverick – he would be; he’s my detective! He works for the London Metropolitan Police in the Basic Command Unit covering Ealing, Garton, Hillingdon and Hounslow, which would be a surprise to the Detective Chief Superintendent as Garton is fictional.  DCI Persaud is bored; overseeing others investigating sundry crimes, including murder, isn’t why he joined up. When a frantic cat shut in an apparently empty house is reported, he can’t resist taking a personal interest…

62,803 words written to date, I have needed a great deal of advice on all sorts, from police procedure to a suitable location for Garton, and beta readers who get to see the story for free, so how about becoming involved yourself?

How, I hear you ask eagerly, or I hope I do! Join my Facebook Reviewer Group. It’s private, but send me a PM – I’m easily found if you are not already a friend; you know what I look like – and say you’re interested, and I’ll invite you.

So far, I’m indebted to Ruth Coulson for the cover, aided and abetted by Sharon Brownlie of aspirebookcovers.com, John Nicholl, best-selling author of physiological thrillers  for putting me in touch with his son-in-law who serves in The Met, Michelle Dunbar who has lived in London – I just love the city and visit – Lesley Hayes, psychotherapist, for advice (on characters!), Rebecca Bryn and Tom Benson, beta reader volunteers, and members who pop along often with much-appreciated encouragement.

Author: authorsarahstuart

Sarah Stuart is an award-winning author whose books are based on her show business experience, her concern for animals, the challenges of her Christian faith, and her passions for history and travel. Sarah's hope is that readers will enjoy her novels as an escape from reality, but be left understanding that fame and fortune often comes at a high personal cost. Also, an increased perception of the threat to animals: those shot in the name of sport for trophy heads, endangered species, many poached for their fur and ivory, and tragically discarded pets.

18 thoughts on “The Occasional Murder Is Never Enough?”

  1. Offer gratefully accepted, Lucinda.
    Even if you don’t finish reading until after publication I can correct any errors you spot and upload new copy.
    Amazon must think I’m nuts, but I do it even for a missed full stop – period for our American friends.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Lucinda, some authors are touchy, so when I spotted an error in the book I’m currently reading I approached cautiously and asked if the lady would like to know what it was. My laptop almost exploded with a request to identify it immediately if not sooner! That is true professionalism, and I’ll know next time. 🙂

        Liked by 2 people

  2. From what I’ve read so far, I think this is going to be one of your best, Sarah. I’m very interested to see how you’re making the change from romance to thriller. Not that your romances don’t have a thriller thread, and the thriller has a romance at its heart.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Rebecca, the title of this post “The Occasional Murder Is Never Enough” came from the Royal Command Family Saga getting stuck, and a gentleman who shall remain nameless unless he appears to claim the credit, saying “Sarah, just kill a character”. (Fans of Richard & Maria may rest easy – nobody is murdered.)

      “The thriller has a romance at its heart” is an interesting comment. If you’re thinking of Sophia, the girl on the cover, it’s a difficult romance, and very much a second-chance romance for Mark, but he has yet to escape the attentions of DCI Gerald Persaud, if he can!

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Damyanti.
      You’re welcome to join the Facebook Group.
      Members do as much or as little as they like – usually time constraints get in the way – but it does mean if you’d like a pre-publication copy – more time to read it – you could ask for one.

      Like

  3. This sounds like a great read! I am very much looking forward to the beta read of this work. There is a lot of great meat on this bone, as we Americans like to say, and I am so stoked. Good luck, as you put fingers to keys.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Thank you, Rita, but you are the” murder mystery with a touch of romance” expert! I may be calling on you for help yet.
    If you are still doing author interviews, Shattered Lives might make for an interesting trans-global chat.

    Like

      1. Yes, Rebecca, as you see, Rita is happy to help.

        Lucinda has interviewed me before. Great fun, though Michael (Royal Command Family Saga) seemed to think she was talking to him. Perhaps DCI Persaud might say a few words, and I’m sure she’ll oblige.

        Lucinda is interested in how Shattered Lives goes. She changed genre with Leah Brandt, though she has no need to worry! It’s a huge success.

        Like

    1. Thank you, Rita. Yes, I’ve received the questions.

      Anyone following this post should click on Rita’s website link; it’s interesting, not to mention a fast, safe, way of crossing the world.

      Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s